Vegan Maple Breakfast Sausages

Standard

DSCN0119 copy

-VEGAN-

Yesterday I made a batch of another type of vegan sausages. I used a recipe from one of my vegan idol, Isa Chandra Moskowitz. You can find the original recipe on her page, just click HERE. Like usual, I changed few things. I used red beans instead of white (I love them and I didnt wanted to cook white beans.. I had few cans of red beans..), didn’t use fennel (I hate fennel.. in fact hate isnt even strong enough to tell how much I don’t like fennel lol) , didn’t use any ground clove too (not a big fan, my husband either), used less ginger powder and I used mesquite liquid smoke.

The result was amazing! I think next time I will add some cranberries too..

It’s the perfect breakfast sausages (haha we ate them for dinner with some roasted veggies), the taste is awesome, the texture too. Like for the italian type, everyone should try this one too!!!!

Now that I tried these two, I will experiment with plenty of kinds, I’ll keep you updated.

Servings

6 sausages

Ingredients

1/2 cup cooked small red beans

1/4 cup vegetable broth

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons soy sauce

(you know.. the real deal, not the super salty one from the supermarket)

1 1/2 teaspoons liquid smoke

(I used mesquite)

2 cloves garlic, finely grated

1 1/4 cups vital wheat gluten

2 tablespoons chipea flour

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Pepper, to taste

redbeans vitalwheatgluten

maple

Directions

If you have a steamer, use it, otherwise I don’t have one so I use a good old pot of boiling water with a metal colander on top, with a lid, hehe. It worked well.  Now is the time to start making the water boil (or starting your steamer)

Prepare 6 pieces of tin foil.

In a bowl, mash the beans, add the rest of the ingredients and mix. Divide the dough into 6 parts.

Roll each part and place it in the foil. roll the foil like if it was a candy.

Place wrapped sausages in the steamer or in the  metal colander, cover and cook for 40 minutes.

Once it’s cooked, be careful when you remove the foil, it’s super hot, serve or refrigerate to use later.

download (1)

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

