Vegan Italian Sausages

Standard

DSCN9990 copy

-VEGAN-

Yesterday I’ve read a comment on my blog talking about an awesome sausage recipe, I tried it today. It is from one of my vegan idol, Isa Chandra Moskowitz. You can find the original recipe on her page, just click HERE.

I did double the recipe and used red kidney beans instead. I also used a little less pepper flakes since my 2 1/2 years old son ate some for dinner. I also didnt used any fennel seeds (I really hate fennel)

My husband is now a big fan, he says it’s the greatest sausage ever!!! Now he want me to try the maple version, hehe, I will totally do that this week. The texture is perfect. I guess it’s because it’s not only seitan, but also mashed beans.

Anyway, you all have to try this.. I’m sure you will enjoy. It’s sooooooo easy!

Servings

8 sausages

Ingredients

1 cup cooked kidney beans

1 cup vegetable broth

2 tablespoons tomato paste

4 tablespoons soy sauce

(you know.. the real deal, not the super salty one from the supermarket)

2 1/2 cups vital wheat gluten

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon hot pepper flakes

2 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon dried thyme

2 teaspoons paprika

salt/pepper

nutritionalyeast redbeans

vitalwheatgluten

Directions

If you have a steamer, use it, otherwise I don’t have one so I use a good old pot of boiling water with a metal colander on top, with a lid, hehe. It worked well.  Now is the time to start making the water boil (or starting your steamer)

Prepare 8 pieces of tin foil.

In a bowl, mash the beans, add the rest of the ingredients and mix. Divide the dough into 8 parts.

Roll each part and place it in the foil. roll the foil like if it was a candy.

Place wrapped sausages in the steamer or in the  metal colander, cover and cook for 40 minutes.

Once it’s cooked, be careful when you remove the foil, it’s super hot, serve or refrigerate to use later.

download

One response »

  1. Pingback: Vegan Lentil Bolognese Sauce | Love.Peace.Hapiness.Cooking

Leave a Reply

