Vegan Red Lentil Sausages

Standard

DSCN9589c

It’s been a while since I wanted to try this sausage recipe from a big book I have. (BIG VEGAN). (By the way, it’s an awesome book)

I stopped procrastinating and I cooked them this morning. I did some minor changes (like for the herbs, non dairy milk…) but I was soooooo glad I tried it. It’s an awesome recipe. I had no choice to share it with you all. The result is wonderful, it’s exactly like a real meaty sausage (not that I never ate vegan sausage before!!! I just never did this one) I’m sure my husband will like them as much as I did when he will be back from work. I convinced him to try vegan sausages because he’s a meat eater and he love sausages, but it’s full of fat and he’s kind of dieting so… I thought it would be a fantastic idea for him.

So tonight’s dinner was this vegan sausage recipe and some Cajun potatoes on the side (you can see my recipe HERE). I’m so excited, that I already want to try another kind, haha!

In the book the recipe is for 4 sausages, I decided to make 8 because I don’t live alone (there is my husband, myself, Dalie and Auguste) so there will be enough for more than one meal. I kept some in the fridge and the rest is in the freezer.

You should give it a try!  🙂

Servings

8 large sausages

Ingredients

* 2 cups dried red lentils

* 2 cups oats

* 1 cup all purposed flour

* 1 cup wheat gluten flour

* 1 cup plain sunflower milk

(on any other non dairy milk)

* 1/2 cup nutritional yeast

* 1/2 cup canola oil

* 4 tablespoon soy sauce

(the real deal, not the super salty version)

* 3 teaspoon liquid smoke

(I used mesquite)

* 2 teaspoons salt

* 1 teaspoon dried oregano

* 1 teaspoon dried basil

* 1 tablespoon paprika

* 1 teaspoon garlic powder

* 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

* Cheesecloth

redlentils oats

Directions

* Soak the lentils in water overnight.

* Drain the lentils. In a food processor, grind the lentils until you reach a smooth paste.

* Transfer the paste in a large bowl. Add all the remaining ingredients. Combine well.

* If you have a steamer, use it, otherwise I don’t have one so I use a good old pot of boiling water with a metal colander on top, with a lid, hehe. It worked well.  Now is the time to start making the water boil (or starting your steamer)

* Cut 8  pieces of cheesecloth (around 20 cm each) You can rub some oil on the cloth to prevent the sausage to stick to it. (I did it!) Form 8 sausages. Wrap them in cheese cloth. You can tie the end with strings or can fold the cheesecloth like I did so I didn’t needed to tie the ends.

* Steam for 45-50 minutes or until the sausage is firm to touch.

* Let cool a little bit before unwrapping them.

* Serve and Enjoy.

—-

You can keep them for a week in the fridge and you can also freeze them (this is what I did)

DSCN9566

DSCN9568

DSCN9572

DSCN9573

DSCN9576

DSCN9584

29 responses »

  1. Pingback: Vegan Red Lentil Sausages

    • hi there! 🙂 In fact I never tried another way that steaming them.. By steaming them you get a texture like the real deal. If you try baking them or frying them please tell me about your experience 🙂 But you can steam them, then cook them to make them a little crunchier.

  2. I made half quantity but they seem very big. Divided into 6 sausages, can only fit 3 in my steamer. Waiting patiently for results . Thank you

  3. Not sure if my previous comment showed up, because my computer froze, so I will repeat it just in case. I just made the sausages and they are really good. They have great consistency, are spiced well and are very filling! I actually had it as a stand alone meal, although I wasn’t planning on it. Thank you for this recipe.

  4. These look great! Any ideas on what I could sub for the flour and wheat gluten to make them gluten-free? I’d love to make them for my daycare kids!

    • Hi! No it’s not regular flour… it’s gluten flour/vital wheat gluten. It’s gluten. Don’t use regular flour!! 🙂 You can find this online or in the organic aisle of a grocery store.

  5. Thanks for sharing your recipe! I stumbled upon your post via Pinterest. I would like to make these vegan red lentil sausages. I don’t have cheesecloth. Would foil be okay to use?

    • Hi! It’s a good question, I don’t know if it would work.. you can try it. Maybe trying one sausage in foil, one in parchement paper.. but if you put them in foil, maybe poke few holes in the foil to let the sausages breathe while they steam 🙂

  6. These are life changing! I can make sausages that are all natural, dairy free and of course meat free for my whole family! I didn’t have oats so i made a flour out of stuffing. Turned out perfect. Can not thank you enough for these.

  7. I just made these and was pretty disappointed. Both the texture and the flavor are off. It doesn’t make 8 sausages but 18 (plan ahead for cheesecloth or wrapping alternatives or you’ll have to look for more with messy hands).

    Foil works too, as indicated by the vegan queen Isa Chandra on her delicious vegan sausages: http://www.theppk.com/2012/01/vegan_sausage/

    I wanted to try a different version but I’ll stick to the old known.

    • Oh so sorry to read that 😦 Here we all love them and I make big sausages, not like hotdogs.. anyway, we all have different tastes according to food and it’s ok like that 🙂 Thanks for the link, I will try that very soon!!! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Recept: Of je worst lust. Van linzen. - Aandachtige Blog

  9. Hi
    These look great and I’m keen to give them a go.
    Do you think you could use tin foil to steam them in rather than cheesecloth? Or does cheesecloth have some clever properties I’m not aware of?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

