Vegan Portobello & Barley ”Risotto”

Standard

DSCN9915c

-VEGAN-

-SLOW COOKER-

Tonight I served that dish with steamed veggies. Usually people eat that kind of recipe as a side dish, but in my house we are big barley fans so the veggies were the side dish, hahaha!

Barley is such an amazing cereal. It can be used in so many ways!! Soup, risotto, breakfast, name it! It’s a great source of fibers, B vitamin, iron and proteins. In addition to all that, the taste is just incredibly delicious (ok ok  maybe I’m saying that because I’m a huge fan, hehe)

The other day I bought a book about vegetarian slow cooker recipes and that one was in the book, well I made some changes. the original version was lacking liquid, I tried the written amount of water (I changed water for broth/water) and after 2 hours it was super dry as Hell, so I changed the quantities, then the cooking settings was too strong, so I changed that too, I added more mushrooms, I changed the dried herbs and I didn’t put any cheese in it. Well my husband added Parmesan in his plate, but not in mine or the kid’s plates. After all these changes I’m super satisfied with the final result! yay! Anyway, it’s up to you to change whatever you want.

Servings

4-6 (depending on the size of your portion)

Ingredients

* Olive oil

* 4 cloves garlic, minced

* 1 large onion, chopped

* 4 portobello mushrooms, diced

(Mine were medium size, so maybe less if they are enormous)

* Salt & pepper (to taste)

* 1 1/2 teaspoons Herbes de Provence

* 1 teaspoon dried and crushed rosemary

* 1 cup pearl barley

* 2 1/2 cups vegetable broth

* 2 cups water

(maybe more at the end, when you put the slow cooker on low, check the texture, then add water if necessary)

portobello barley

Directions

* In a pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Cook the onion, garlic and mushrooms for 3-4 minutes or until the mushrooms are tender. Remove from heat.

* Pour the mushrooms mixture into slow cooker. Add the rest of the ingredients. Mix.

*  Close the lid and cook for 2 hours on high, then 1-2 hours on low.

* Serve and enjoy!

DSCN9910

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

