Mango Pulp Muffins

Standard

DSCN9545 copy

-VEGAN-

Since I bought my omega juicer I’m wondering what to do with that pulp… (and don’t tell me compost.. during winter, it’s suppppppper cold here, so it’s not really possible to compost outside during the winter., hehe) so I decided to try to use some of the pulp in recipes. For this one I used the mango pulp, but next time I’ll try baking with the pineapple pulp, since they are more wet than apple pulp for example.

I was glad I tried because I love them, hehe. Big boy Auguste wanted a bite too and I think he loved them too, haha!! Silly big boy, he love to eat everything! (Including dirt from plants, rocks, paper.. irshh, haha)

Since I’m working out and losing weight the mini muffin pan was just perfect, that way I don’t eat too much big muffins, hehe!

Servings

12 mini muffins

Ingredients

* 1/4 cup mango pulp

(I kept the mango pulp when I made homemade juice this morning)

* 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted

* 2 tablespoons unsweetened apple sauce

* 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

* 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

* 1/4 teaspoon salt

* 3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional, you can use nuts instead, or just nothing)

(If you want the recipe to be vegan, make sure there is no milk in the chocolate you use!)

DSCN9537 DSCN9539

choco

(I’m now using a new brand of organic coconut oil, since my last jar is empty. I found that super big jar at Costco the other day and instead of being 18$, it was 13$ (yay! another awesome bargain). )

Directions

* Preheat oven (350′F)

* In a bowl or a stand mixer, combine the pulp, maple syrup, melted coconut oil and applesauce. Mix well.

* In another bowl combine the flour, salt and baking soda.

* Add the dry mixture into the wet mixture, then mix. Stir in the chocolate chips (or nuts or just nothing, hehe).

* Spoon the mixture into mini muffin pan and bake. (I’m always using silicone! No need to throw papers!)

* Bake for about 11-12 minutes. If a toothpick comes out clean, the muffins are ready.

* Enjoy!

DSCN9541

DSCN9542

Leave a Reply

