Squash Curry (Vegan)

Standard

DSCN9380 copy

-VEGAN-

This recipe may sound weird because of the banana in it, but trust me, it’s super delicious! After one bowl you are super full, haha!

I love these kind of dishes, not only because I’m a big fan of curries (hehe) but because it’s delicious, fast, healthy and.. cheap! I calculated how much it cost me (I love to do that) and it was under 3$ (I buy dry beans and it’s squash season so it’s normal to have them for 0.79$/pound here).. for 4 people!! What can you have for 0.75$ at a restaurant? hahaha NOTHING! I love to cook because it’s just the perfect thing to do, it’s healthier, greener (than buying all ready made stuff with tons of packaging) , tastier and cheaper. I hope one day I will see my kids do the same for themselves and their families.

Servings

4

Ingredients

* 3-4 tablespoons olive oil

* 3 cloves of garlic, minced

* 1 large onion, chopped

* 1 teaspoon ground coriander

* 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

* 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric

* 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

* 1 medium size acorn squash (around 1 1/2 pound), peeled and diced

* 2 1/2 tablespoons curry paste

* 2 large ripe tomatoes, chopped

* 1 1/4 cups vegetable stock

* 2 cups cooked chickpeas

* 1 large banana (not super ripe and dark, greener is better, hehe)

* Rice (optional)

pois chiche acornsquash

bananas

Directions

* In a pot over medium heat, heat  2 tablespoons of the oil, then cook garlic, onion and spices for 4-5 minutes or until the onion starts to turn golden.

* In another bowl, combine the squash and the curry. Toss well to coat the squash evenly.

* Add the tomatoes and the vegetable stock to the pot with onions. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10-15 minutes.

* In a pan heat 1 tablespoon oil. Add the squash and cook for 5-6 minutes. (Doing this prevents the squash from becoming super mushy while cooking in liquid) Add the squash and the chickpeas to the simmering pot. Cover and cook for another 15- 20 minutes or until the squash is tender.

* Peel and slice the banana. Stir it into the curry then continue to cook for another 5 minutes.

* Remove from heat.

* Serve over Basmati rice and Enjoy! (Mine is yellow because I added turmeric in the cooking water)

2 responses »

    • Yep, but it’s delicious! 😀 (My husband who is a super big meat eater loved that curry a lot. In fact I’m making him eat more vegetarian/vegan meals since I’m with him that he ever did in his entire life, hehe!) the banana adds a little sweet taste in the dish.

Leave a Reply

