Strawberry Puree

Standard

DSCN9377

Here’s another basic puree…

During summer in Quebec, there is nothing better than fresh strawberries! Not that the one from USA during the rest of the year are not good, but yeah our strawberries are just super awesome and delicious, hehe! I know we’re almost in October, not in summer anymore, but I’m a bit late on posting all the things I wanna post, haha! With the moving, the trip to see the whales, taking care of the house, the kids, the cooking, enjoying the spa, hahaha! I’m still looking for more time to work on my blog.

Making puree with strawberries is a little tough.. they kind of become almost a juice, but it’s ok, I mixed the puree with some cereals before giving it to my big boy.

Strawberries are is a good source of Folate, Potassium, and fibers.

1272237_10151962810867323_1049397285_o

Servings

6 servings (of 1/3 cup)

Ingredients

* 3 cups fresh strawberries (I used our famous Quebec’s strawberries)

DSCN9247 copy

Directions

* Wash and cut the leaves of all the strawberries.

* Steam cook the strawberries for about 30sec-1min, just to give them all the same texture. (I prefer steam cooking over regular boiling water) You can totally skip this step if the strawberries are very ripe. I did it even if they were, just to make sure the texture was even.

* Put them in the food processor. Mix. Some people will make sure there is no little seeds left, but I don’t care, I use my ninja food processor and there was no more seeds in the puree!

* No need to add water in this puree, it’s already really smooth. Here it’s way to smooth for my boy, so I mixed strawberries and cereals for breakfast.

* An effective method of preservation is freezing. The ice cube trays are very useful, inexpensive and reusable as many times as we wish. Simply place the puree in the trays to freeze it and once it is frozen, removed from the mold and put the cubes in a freezer container. Don’t forget to write the date on it. you can keep it for at least 3 months.

Leave a Reply

