How to.. cook beets in a slow cooker

Standard

DSCN9324

-SLOW COOKER-

I love beets.. A LOT! In fact it’s my all time favorite veggie! I’m so glad when Fall is coming because it’s the season to buy beets!!! this year I planted some in my garden (I fun kind, red and the inside is white with circles) and by the way they were super awesome and delicious!!!

The thing about beet is that when you want to eat them cooked or used them cooked in a recipe, you need to cook them (duh! haha) but cooking beet is so annoying, it’s super long, makes a ton of heat in the kitchen and use electricity for a long time. So cooking beets in a slow cooker is just way too cool not to do it. No more heat or noise in the kitchen, it require only a little electricity (after all cooking with a slow cooker is kind of about that too) and you just let them cook and few hours later.. they are done!

Beets are awesome, did I told you that before? haha!

Joking aside, beets are truly awesome. They are delicious raw or cooked, in baked goods, even pickled. My husband is a big fan of my pickled beets.. on my side I love them in all the forms possible!! Even in juices! (beet-pineapple is the best juice EVER!!!) Beets are a great source of antioxidants, vitamin C, fibers and potassium.

You need..

* Beets

(I used small beets from the local farmer and beets from my garden)

beets

Steps

* Wash the beets, remove all the greens (the one from the local farmer didn’t had greens, but mine did, by the way, you can eat beet greens, it’s delicious and very healthy) but don’t cut anything else, otherwise the beets will ”bleed” in the cooking water.

* In the slow cooker, place all the beets and pour some water over them, not to cover them, but enough to have most of the beets in the water. close the lid and cook on the LOW setting for few hours. Depending on the size of your beets it can take longer. Mine were kind of small so it took me around 5 hours to have well cooked beets. When they are cooked you can remove the skin very VERY easily.

* Remove from the slow cooker, and peel. (I peel them in the sink to avoid staining everything around, haha)

* Serve and Enjoy (or use later)

DSCN9299

DSCN9322

Leave a Reply

