Vegan Caramel Popcorn

Standard

DSCN9393c

The other day I wanted to try a funky snack and since I know my big girl and husband are big fans of popcorn.. I searched in all my vegan books and found an awesome recipe to make vegan caramel popcorn.

I found it in my book called LICKIN’ THE BEATERS 2 (if you click on the name you’ll see the book on amazon.ca ) I was very pleased with the result! It’s soooooooo delicious! It was so hard not to eat the whole baking sheet in one shot, hahahaha!

Servings

7-8 cups

Ingredients

* 3/4 cups packed brown sugar

* 6 tablespoons margarine

(to make them vegan, be sure that your margarine is really vegan)

* 3 tablespoons corn syrup

* 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

*1/4 teaspoon baking soda

* 7-8 cups popped popcorn

(without any flavor or butter, I use regular unpopped kernel and popped them myself with my popcorn maker)

DSCN9389

Directions

* Preheat oven to 300′F

* In a pot, combine the brown sugar, margarine and corn syrup. Stir and cook over medium heat until the mixture is boiling. Without stirring continue to cook another 2-3 minutes.

* Remove the pot from heat, stir in vanilla extract and baking soda.

* In a bowl place the popcorn. Pour the caramel over the popcorn and gently stir to coat.

*Transfer the popcorn on a large baking sheet. Cook for 15 minutes. Remove from the oven, stir them and return them to the oven for another 5 minutes.

* Remove from the oven and let the popcorn cool for few minutes. I waited about 30 minutes, to let the caramel set on the popcorn.

* Serve and Enjoy!

DSCN9387

DSCN9390

DSCN9392

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Vegan Caramel Popcorn | My Vegan recipes | Sco...

Leave a Reply

