Foodie Penpals May 2012

Standard
The Lean Green Bean

Let me tell you about an amazing experience…

FOODIE PENPALS !!

*

The month of May 2012 was my first time doing the foodie penpals experience and it was AWESOME!
The concept is easy, you join and you’re matched with two other food lovers (blogger or reader) The first one send you something and you send something to the last one.
*
Here’s a detailed explanation of the program:
(Thanks to The Lean Green Bean to letting us copy this text instead of all writing it over!)

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

Want to give it a try? It’s easy!! Just click HERE or on the image on  top of my page! You’ll see it’s fun!

*

Like I said, It was my first time this month, but not my last!

The part where I received such an amazing goodies box was great, but I was also lucky to make smile someone else, but more importantly, I meet two wonderful women. That’s the most fantastic part of my experience. I was so trilled when I realized that both of the women I was matched with were so nice and that we had a lot in common!!! What a chance I had to get to know them! The best part in all that… We still chat each few days together!

*

Let me introduce you to an amazing women… Courtney from The Fig Tree

From the very first message we quickly realized the many similarities between us. She’s a food and photography lover (and let me tell you… she’s very talented!!!) Music, movies, nature… she’s a lot like me, except two things, she’s in Manitoba, I’m in Quebec and she’s vegetarian. (No big deals here, I don’t eat a lot of meat myself! Anyway I respect everybody!) We instantly connected together.

I was so trilled to be matched with someone like her!! (Chance was nice with me that day, haha)

I strongly recommend to everyone to go and take a look at her amazing blog The Fig Tree or join her on facebook The Fig Tree Facebook

*

The day I received her box, it was like Christmas!! First because it’s always fun to receive something else than bills in the mail and because.. Gosh! the box was filled with things that I love (It was like she knew me forever).

She put so much effort in all the details (she’s a true artist!), everything was wrapped in that cute flower paper with number post-it… inside the box there was a letter explaining each items (with their numbers). What a great idea!!! She even took the time to explain why she was sending me each things, where they came from… I really loved the fact that she sent me things that I would like but also things that she like and wanted me to discover.

For the curious who are currently reading this post… I’ll tell you all what I received!

1- Organic sweet Basil Seeds, it’s just perfect for me, I love gardening!! And she didn’t knew but my favorite herb is basil!

2- Manitoba Rooibos Tea, Her favorite kind of tea, mine is Pu-Er, but it doesn’t matter at all, I love Rooibos too and never tasted this one.

3- Green Bean Coffee, a coffee roasted in Manitoba, can’t wait to brew me a cup! It smells SOOOOO good!!!

4- Manitoba Spiced Apple Leather, directly from the Farmer’s market, it tastes like fresh from the oven apple pie. Like she told me to do in the letter, I give some to my adorable daughter Dalie and she liked it very much (haha my husband too!!)

5- Vegetarian Time Magazine, Her favorite magazine. In fact I always wanted to subscribe myself to this magazine because it look interesting but never had the chance to really read one… I was glad to receive one, I took a cup of tea and sat with the magazine… and now I will definitely subscribe! Such a great magazine!!

6- The movie *Away we go*, she sent me one of her favorite movie so I could have a dinner+ movie night with my husband.. and we had it! What a great movie, simple and so cute. (if you’ve never seen it, I recommend it, run to the video club and rent it!)

7- Tall Grass Prairie Manitoba Jam, it’s from a well known bakery where they make lots of great stuff, like buns, bread, canning. The jam is made of saskatoon bushes, fruit that we don’t really have where I live. This is why I’m so trilled to try this jam! Every morning I look at the jar wanting to eat some.. but I don’t want to see the jar empty, hahaha! I’m sure it’s delicious!

8-Homemade Ginger-Coconut-Almond-Granola, This granola taste like.. HEAVEN! You can find the recipe on her blog HERE. Usually I’m not a huge ginger fan, but in this granola it’s so good, it’s almost incredible!

A special thanks to my new friend Courtney for making me smile the day I met her (well… also when I opened the box, hah!)

*


I also met another great women while doing the foodie penpals experience. I had to send her a goodies box.

Her name is Collen, she’s from Ontario. She’s a strong women that I admire a lot. She doesn’t have a blog but I asked her to write me a little something for my blog… when she will sent it to me, I’ll post it.

*

Like I previously said, this experience is not only about food, but for me it was also about getting in touch with others and had the chance to meet interesting people.

Don’t be shy, try the experience at least one time!

The Lean Green Bean
Want to see what others received? Go take a look at the official Foodie Penpals Reveal day’s page
8 responses »

  1. That is why I really enjoy this entire process because it really allows you to meet great people! I’m glad you had such a great experience. On other note,I love how she put the package together! It was so cute that she wrapped everything.

Leave a Reply

